Posted by: cookscache | March 29, 2010

Anti-Store-Bought Pasta Sauce

It is rare that I find a store-bought pasta sauce that I like. Most are too sweet or too thin. So, if I do buy store-bought, I always add a variety of ingredients. But, even more often, I just make my own. It takes the same amount of time as buying a jar and adding stuff.

While it is always a little bit different, here is the basic makeup of my homemade pasta sauce. The meat is optional, as the veggies really hold their own without it, especially the broccoli.

This is also so good served on top of garlic bread instead of on pasta if you’re looking to try something different.

Anti-Store-Bought Pasta Sauce

1 cup broccoli chopped into bite-sized pieces (mine was left-over and already cooked)

1 cup mushrooms sliced

1 onion chopped

1 can V8 (or tomato juice, paste, or soup of any kind)

1 can diced tomatoes

1 red bell pepper chopped

1 cup red wine

2 tbsp italian seasoning

1 tbsp crushed garlic

1 lb ground meat (1 used Bob Evans sausage, but beef or turkey or pork work just fine)

2 tbsp olive oil

In a sauce pan, brown the garlic, onions and mushrooms in the olive oil. Then, add the meat and brown it, followed by the red pepper and broccoli. When well blended, add the diced tomatoes, tomato juice, wine and italian seasoning. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 45 min uncovered, stirring occasionally.

I’ve also made this with summer squash, zucchini, egg-plant, olives, whatever is handy. So much more tasty than anything store-bought.


Responses

  1. Meghan most store bought pasta sauce is made on shared equipment and makes LJ feel sick. I’ve got to try this while I am out here on baby ALERT!


Leave a comment

Categories