Posted by: cookscache | March 31, 2010

Basic Beef Stew on a Rainy Day

With one of the last awful rainy March days at hand, I took a cue from the book I’m reading that takes place in 18th century Scotland: Beef stew does the body and the spirit well. It sticks to your bones, wakes up your taste buds, and goes really well with a glass or wine or ale. Definitely a perfect end to a long deary day.

If I’d known beef stew was so easy to make and hard to screw up, it would have been  a regular item on my menu long ago. Plus I used my slow cooker so there was even less effort involved. I was very pleased with how this recipe I developed turned out. I looked over about 20 recipes from a variety of sources very quickly, watching for my key ingredients, rump roast, potatoes and carrots to pop up, and made mental notes about what else I should add. Most beef stews have some sort of onion or onion soup mix, a can of some kind of tomato product, a thickening agent and a combination of spices.

I served this plain, piping hot, but it would have been good over egg noodles or fresh biscuits.

Basic Beef Stew

3 lbs rump roast cubed

4 medium-sized red potatoes

2 cups chopped carrots

1 large onion roughly chopped

1 bay leaf

1 can V8 (12 oz, low sodium)

1 cup red wine

1/2 cup instant tapioca

2 tbsp worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp Montreal Steak Seasoning (McCormick)

First, I roughly chopped up the veggies (onion, carrots, potatoes) and tossed them in the bottom of the slow cooker with the instant tapioca powder. Then I cubed half of a rump roast (put the rest in the freezer) and placed the cubes on top of the vegetables. Then, I added the remaining ingredients, making sure to pour the wine and V8 over the meat before seasoning so that the seasoning would stick for the duration of the 5 hours. While I cooked on high for 5, if I’d had time to start earlier probably 8 hours on low would have been adequate. As it was, the beef was so perfect, flaked with the touch of a fork, that I am glad I didn’t cook it any differently.

My husband devoured this very typical ‘meat and potatoes’ dinner in a very 18th century fashion, so in the future I will probably double the recipe as there was so little left over. Maybe served over some kind of starch it might cut the need for doubling. We’ll see. A definite keeper.

Variations: I liked the ideas of using onion soup, stewed tomatoes, and celery, but the cupboard was bare on those counts, so I did without and the meal was hardly lacking. Also, fresh herbs would have been a nice twist, but my garden isn’t ready for that, yet.


Responses

  1. This sounds like a wonderful recipe. I will try it when I get home from California. No, I will try it when I am here! LJ has a crockpot. Armando and Gabriel would love this.
    I hope as you develop recipes, Meghan, that you do some without cheese, milk and butter. I can usually adapt, but pkged. stuff often has hidden milk protein. Mainly I try to cook from scratch.
    Thank goodness for soy sour cream and goat’s milk!

    • I actually have quite a few recipes that are dairy free; I should label them as such. Since I haven’t been able to eat dairy or soy while nursing, just about everything I make has been adapted so that I can enjoy it, too. I am lucky that the more hidden dairy doesn’t seem to be too much of a problem, but I am definitely more aware of it than I was previously! I’ve actually been drinking Almond Milk when I really have a dairy craving; the Silk brand original/natural flavor is not half-bad.

  2. Keep me posted on all your ideas about enjoying food that doesn’t make me sick! :) food that I can make that others can enjoy as well.
    I am so excited about your developing delicious QUICK food on a BUDGET. I think I successfully signed LJ up for the blog because she has very little time or energy to cook yet she loves to feed her family well. Gabriel is so well nourished he is growing like a weed.


Leave a comment

Categories